International Air Transport Association Netherlands Data Publications Timatic Editing Team

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan

Important Notice on Entry Ban for Strengthening Border Security Measures to Prevent the Spread of Novel Coronavirus

On 19 May 2021, taking the current situation on the emergence of Novel Coronavirus variant of concern into consideration, the Government of Japan decided to further strengthen the border security measures by introducing additional measures as follows;

Designation of areas subject to the entry ban

Cambodia, Mongolia, Saint Lucia, Seychelles, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Timor-Leste have been newly added to the list below pursuant to the aforementioned decision. Foreign nationals who have stayed in these countries within 14 days prior to the application for landing will be denied permission to enter Japan in principle. This measure is effective from 00:00am (JST) on May 21, 2021.

[Counties/regions subject to the entry ban]

Asia:

Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Timor-Leste

North America:

Canada, United States of America

Latin America and the Caribbean:

Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and

Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela

Europe:

Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyz, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uzbekistan, Vatican

Middle East:

Afghanistan, Bahrain, Israel, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates

Africa:

Algeria, Botswana, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Central Africa, Comoros, Cote d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Namibia, Nigeria, Republic of Congo, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tunisia, Zambia, Zimbabwe

[Note]

1 Regardless of the aforementioned measures, the new entry of foreign nationals who are acknowledged to have special exceptional circumstances by Japanese authorities may still enter Japan even if they have stayed in those countries within 14 days prior to the application for landing into Japan. Those foreign nationals have a visa issued by Japanese overseas establishments.

As we have informed already, the re-entry into Japan of foreign nationals with status of residence who have stayed in Bangladesh, India, Maldives, Nepal and Pakistan within 14 days prior to the application for landing will be denied, until further notice, unless there are special exceptional circumstances.

We would deeply appreciate it if your team could notify all related airlines that they should inform all concerned passengers of those measures in order for them to avoid any inconvenience arriving in Japan.

[End]